Articles

World’s Largest Swimming Lesson

Help set a new world record in 2013, and spread the word that swimming lessons save lives.
On Tuesday, June 18, 2013, tens of thousands of kids and adults at aquatic facilities around the world will unite for the fourth year in a row to set a new Guinness World Record. The global record attempt for The World’s Largest Swimming Lesson (WLSL), will take place at 3 pm GMT (11am ET, 8 am PT.)
Team WLSL holds the current Guinness World Record for the largest simultaneous swimming lesson, which stands at 24,873 participants representing 15 different countries across five continents! The 2012 WLSL event generated more than 29 million media impressions, spreading the event’s important message to hundreds of thousands of families.
Tragically, drowning remains the leading cause of unintended, injury related death for children ages 1-5, and the second leading cause of accidental death for children under 14. Research shows participation in formal swimming lessons can reduce the risk of drowning by 88 percent among children aged 1 to 4, yet many kids do not receive formal swimming or water safety training.
About The World’s Largest Swimming Lesson
The World’s Largest Swimming Lesson was created as a platform to help aquatic facilities and the many different regional, national and international water safety organizations work together to communicate the fundamental importance of teaching children to swim. Download a Save the Date Kit and start promoting your WLSL event. For a press release, snipe and web-ready banners.
Visit www.wlsl.org to learn more.

Most Popular

To Top